Now We Are Dead

Revenge is a dangerous thing…

Detective Chief Inspector Roberta Steel got caught fitting up Jack Wallace – that’s why they demoted her and quashed his sentence. Now he’s back on the streets and women are being attacked again. Wallace has to be responsible, but if Detective Sergeant Steel goes anywhere near him, his lawyers will get her thrown off the force for good.

The Powers That Be won’t listen to her, not after what happened last time. According to them, she’s got more than enough ongoing cases to keep her busy. Perhaps she could try solving a few instead of harassing an innocent man?

Steel knows Wallace is guilty. And the longer he gets away with it, the more women will suffer. The question is: how much is she willing to sacrifice to stop him?


The Logan McRae Novels

  • Close To The Bone
  • Shatter The Bones
  • Dark Blood
  • Blind Eye
  • Flesh House
  • Broken Skin
  • Dying Light
  • Cold Granite

The Logan McRae series is set in Aberdeen, the Granite City, Oil Capital of Europe, perched on the east coast of Scotland. They always say, “write what you know” so I did – using Aberdeen as the backdrop for a series of horrific crimes, murders, serial killers, and much eating of chips and drinking of beer.Of these, the only ones I have any direct experience of are beer and chips, but some nice local police officers helped me fill in the rest.

If you want to read the stories in chronological order (including the short stories and novella) it goes: Cold Granite, Dying Light, Broken Skin, Flesh House, Blind Eye, Dark Blood, DI Steel’s Bad Heir DayShatter The Bones, Stramash, Close to the Bone, The 45% Hangover22 Dead Little BodiesThe Missing and the Dead, and the new Logan novel: In the Cold Dark Ground.

Mind you, I wanted Cold Granite to read as if it was from the middle of a series (lots of events from the past that are never explained) so you should be able to dip in and out in any order you fancy.

The Ash Henderson Novels

  • A Song for the Dying
  • Birthdays For The Dead

Detective Constable Ash Henderson is a very different kind of police officer to Logan McRae. For a start he lives in Oldcastle, which doesn’t actually exist. That means I can have the police there do all sorts of nasty and corrupt things without worrying about upsetting anyone. At the beginning of Birthdays for the Dead, Ash has a dark secret – five years ago, his daughter was taken by the killer the tabloids dubbed The Birthday Boy. Everyone else, including his ex-wife, thinks she ran away. Because Ash was determined to stay on the case and catch the man who brutally tortured and killed his daughter himself. By the time we get to the start of A Song for the Dying, things have got even worse…


  • Sawbones
  • Halfhead

In addition to the Logan McRae series, I’ve also done a near future thriller called Halfhead and a novella called Sawbones. And believe it or not, they’ve both got me into trouble…

Short Stories

Last but not least, are the short stories. There’s a collection of them, all set in the fictional city of Oldcastle published as Twelve Days of Winter. Other stories have appeared in anthologies, and there’s even a handfull of them available online.

Skeleton Bob

A charming children’s picture book about a wee skeleton with pink woollen skin – in aid of the Million for a Morgue campaign.